Discrimination strikes at the core of what it means to be human. Discrimination is harming someone’s rights simply because of who they are or because of their beliefs. Discrimination is harmful and perpetuates inequality.

The CRC (Civil Rights Center) is an independent government agency responsible for protecting the civil rights of people who:

  • Request the services of the Department of Labor (DOL)
  • Participate in DOL programs or activities
  • Work for a DOL-supported program or activity
  • Have some other type of interaction with DOL-supported programs or activities.

However, there are types of discrimination that are illegal under the laws that the CRC enforces:

  • National Origin
  • Sex/gender
  • Religion
  • Political affiliation or political belief
  • Race
  • Age
  • Disability

The laws that the CRC enforces protect beneficiaries from discrimination:

  • Because of their citizenship (if they can legally work in the United States)
  • Because they have participated in one or more of a specific group of programs that receive federal financial aid.

It’s important to stay informed about the role of US government agencies, as it may be helpful to residents in your territory.

For more information, visit us at the Law Office of Monica Herrera.